About this policy
CMS NCA document | source_status=Closed | review_type=2nd Recon | public_comment_open=False | document_id=CAG-00190R2
Coverage indications
CMS has determined that the evidence is inadequate to conclude that autologous platelet rich plasma (PRP) for the treatment of chronic non-healing cutaneous wounds, acute surgical wounds when the autologous PRP is applied directly to the closed incision, or dehiscent wounds improves health outcomes in the Medicare population. Therefore, CMS has determined that PRP is not reasonable and necessary for the treatment of these indications. Consequently, CMS is issuing a non-coverage determination for acute surgical wounds when the autologous PRP is applied directly to the closed incision and for dehiscent wounds. CMS will maintain the current non-coverage for chronic, non-healing cutaneous wounds. In accordance with section 310.1 of the National Coverage Determinations Manual, Medicare covers the routine costs in Federally sponsored or approved clinical trials assessing the efficacy of autologous PRP in treating chronic, non-healing cutaneous wounds. The new NCD language can be found in Appendix C.
Documentation requirements
Decision Memo: To: Administrative File: CAG-00190R2 Autologous Blood-Derived Products for Chronic Non-Healing Wounds (Second Reconsideration) From: Steve Phurrough, MD, MPA Director Coverage and Analysis Group Marcel E. Salive, MD, MPH Director Division of Medical and Surgical Services Beverly A. Lofton, MHA Lead Health Policy Analyst, Division of Medical and Surgical Services Jamie Hermansen, MPP Health Policy Analyst, Division of Medical and Surgical Services Lori Paserchia, MD Lead Medical Officer, Division of Medical and Surgical Services Subject: Coverage Decision Memorandum for Autologous Blood-Derived Products for Chronic Non-Healing Wounds Date: March 19, 2008 I. Decision CMS has determined that the evidence is inadequate to conclude that autologous platelet rich plasma (PRP) for the treatment of chronic non-healing cutaneous wounds, acute surgical wounds when the autologous PRP is applied directly to the closed incision, or dehiscent wounds improves health outcomes in the Medicare population. Therefore, CMS has determined that PRP is not reasonable and necessary for the treatment of these indications. Consequently, CMS is issuing a non-coverage determination for acute surgical wounds when the autologous PRP is applied directly to the closed incision and for dehiscent wounds. CMS will maintain the current non-coverage for chronic, non-healing cutaneous wounds. In accordance with section 310.1 of the National Coverage Determinations Manual, Medicare covers the routine costs in Federally sponsored or approved clinical trials assessing the efficacy of autologous PRP in treating chronic, non-healing cutaneous wounds. The new NCD language can be found in Appendix C. II. Background Summary of the Disease A cutaneous wound is a disruption of the normal anatomic structure and function of the skin. A wound is described as partial thickness where the disruption involves the outer two layers of the skin (the epidermis and the dermis) or as full thickness where the disruption involves all three layers (i.e., the epidermis, dermis and subcutaneous tissue). Wound healing is a dynamic, interactive process that involves multiple cells and proteins. There are three progressive stages of normal wound healing: inflammatory, tissue formation, and tissue remodeling (Singer, 1999). During the inflammatory stage, platelets and neutrophils migrate to the area to stabilize the wound and begin the process of healing. Each cell releases various proteins generally referred to as growth factors to accomplish these tasks. During the tissue formation stage, two other cells, the macrophage and the fibroblast, gather in the wound area to continue the process of healing by stimulating the early phase of wound remodeling and strengthening. New tissue, called granulation tissue, is created in the wound. New blood vessels are created to nourish the granulation tissue. Skin cells begin preparations to eventually cover the wound. The tissue remodeling stage continues the remodeling and strengthening processes and leads to complete closure of the wound. The typical normal wound healing duration is about four weeks. There are two general types of wounds: acute and chronic. A wound is labeled “acute” when it has yet to proceed through the three stages of normal wound healing. The presumption is that an acute wound will be repaired in an orderly and timely process (Robson, 2006). By contrast, a chronic wound is of sufficient age that it should have progressed through the three stages, but failed to do so. Hence, a wound is labeled “chronic” when it has failed to repair itself. In the 2003 decision memorandum (CAG-00190N) a chronic wound was considered to be one that has failed to heal within thirty days; CMS is applying this same consideration to this decision memorandum (DM). A dehiscent wound is typically an incisional site that was closed at the end of surgery that has subsequently split open along the suture lines. Wound dehiscence is a potential complication that occurs as a result of poor wound healing. Because normal wound healing involves many variables that interact in a dynamic and interactive manner, the reasons for abnormal wound healing are usually multi-factorial. Multiple physiologic and biochemical defects can lead to a failure to heal (Singer, 1999). The presence of co-morbid medical conditions increases this variability. For example, patients with diabetes suffer from vascular disease, which can limit the ability of wound healing-relevant cells and their growth factors to reach the wound area. Adding to the variability is the potential for each co-morbid condition to impact the normal wound healing process in a different manner. For example, the factors underlying the cause of a diabetic ulcer can, and usually are, different from the factors behind a pressure ulcer. Given the multi-factorial manner of wound development, healing and failure to heal, with resultant different wound types, the management of chronic, cutaneous wounds is increasingly tailored to the specific type of wound. There are some treatments and strategies that are commonly used regardless of wound type such as debridement of dead tissue in the wound, maintaining a moist wound environment, infection control, and the reduction of recurring trauma to the wound. However, other procedures are customized by wound type; for example, intense regulation of the hemoglobin A1C level in a patient with a diabetic foot ulcer, or the restoration of arterial perfusion in a patient with an ulcer due to arterial insufficiency. Background of the Procedure Platelet releasates, including multiple growth factors, have been used for the treatment of wounds since the mid 1980s. (Driver, 2006) An example is becaplermin, which is an FDA-approved product that contains a single growth factor called platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF). Alternatively, autologous PRP provides a concentrated source of platelets and the numerous types of growth factors contained in their granules. Most notable are PDGF and transforming growth factor-ß (i.e., TGF-ß1 and TGF- ß2) but also include insulin-like growth factor, vascular endothelial growth factor, as well as other growth factors. (Steigmann, 2005) Platelet-rich plasma is produced in an autologous or homologous manner. Autologous PRP is comprised of blood from the patient who will ultimately receive the PRP. Alternatively, homologous PRP is derived from blood from multiple donors. Platelet-rich plasma is prepared by extracting a small amount of a person’s blood and sequestering and concentrating the platelets using a centrifuge. The platelet’s alpha granules are then stimulated to release their growth factors by the addition of thrombin (called the platelet activation method) or the growth factors are released by physically disrupting (or lysating) the alpha granules (called the freeze-thaw method) (Steigmann, 2005). III. History of Medicare Coverage In 1992, CMS issued a national non-coverage determination for platelet-derived wound healing formulas intended to treat patients with chronic, non-healing wounds. In December 2003, CMS issued a national non-coverage determination for use of autologous PRP for the treatment of chronic non-healing cutaneous wounds except for routine costs when used in accordance with the clinical trial policy defined in section 310.1 of the National Coverage Determinations Manual. In April 2005, CMS issued a national coverage determination (NCD) to correct the erroneous potential for local coverage of becaplermin, printed in section 270.3 of the NCD manual, entitled “Blood-Derived Products for Chronic Non-Healing Wounds.” CMS deleted the erroneous sentences and inserted the correct statement that “Coverage for treatments utilizing becaplermin, a non-autologous growth factor for chronic non-healing subcutaneous wounds, will remain nationally non-covered under Part B based on §1861(s)(2)(A) and (B) because this product is usually administered by the patient.” Current Request On June 20, 2007, Cytomedix submitted a formal request to CMS to reconsider coverage of autologous blood-derived products when used for the treatment of chronic non-healing wounds. Autologous PRP is a prevalent blood product used for treating chronic non-healing wounds, open cutaneous wounds, soft tissue, and bone. Cytomedix submitted new evidence and requested CMS to re-evaluate the coverage of autologous PRP gel for the following open-cutaneous wounds, including chronic wounds: Wounds caused by an acute surgical incision or dehiscence. Full-thickness chronic wounds that have failed an adequate course of standard wound therapy. On February 15, 2008, CMS received a letter from the submitter (Cytomedix) requesting that CMS revise the proposed decision memorandum to allow for coverage of autologous PRP “when used as a treatment of chronic diabetic foot ulcers.” The letter also included a discussion about the use of a registry approach that would allow coverage of autologous PRP for treatment of chronic diabetic foot ulcers. The submitter explained that the use of a registry would permit CMS to continue to gather data that will help “develop the evidence base for improved treatment of diabetic foot ulcers.” Benefit Category For an item or service to be covered by the Medicare program, among other things, it must meet one of the statutorily defined benefit categories outlined in the Social Security Act. There is no specific Medicare benefit category for autologous blood-derived products for treatment of chronic non-healing wounds. However, these services, at a minimum, fall within the benefit categories of physician’s service (§1861(s)(1) of the Act) and “incident to” a physician’s service (§1861(s)(2)(A) of the Act). This may not be an exhaustive list of all applicable Medicare benefit categories for this item or service. IV. Timeline of Recent Activities Date Action June 25, 2007 CMS formally opened a national coverage analysis on Autologous Blood-Derived Products for Chronic Non-Healing Wounds. The initial public comment period opened. July 25, 2007 The initial public comment period closed. September 18, 2007 Cytomedix and wound care experts meeting at CMS. October 15, 2007 Organogenesis meeting at CMS. December 20, 2007 Proposed decision memorandum posted to CMS website. The public comment period for the proposed decision memorandum opened. January 19, 2008 The public comment period for the proposed decision memorandum closed. February 4, 2008 Cytomedix and wound care experts meeting at CMS. V. FDA Status The AutoloGel™ System has been cleared by the FDA under Section 510(k) in a determination that the device is substantially equivalent (for the following listed indications) to legally marketed predicate devices marketed in interstate commerce prior to May 28, 1976. The device “is intended to be used at point-of-care for the safe and rapid preparation of platelet-rich plasma (PRP) gel from a small sample of a patient’s own blood. Under the supervision of a healthcare professional, the PRP gel produced by the AutoloGel™ System is suitable for exuding wounds, such as leg ulcers, pressure ulcers and for the management of mechanically- or surgically-debrided wounds.” FDA concluded, “Based on the clinical performance information, it can be concluded that AutoloGel is substantially equivalent to the marketed wound dressing IPM Wound Gel.” (FDA 510(k) summary accessed at http://www.fda.gov/cber/510ksumm/k060007S.pdf accessed November 15, 2007.) The AutoloGel system is one example of systems that produce autologous PRP products. VI. General Methodological Principles When making national coverage determinations, CMS evaluates relevant clinical evidence to determine whether or not the evidence is of sufficient quality to support a finding that an item or service falling within a benefit category is reasonable and necessary for the diagnosis or treatment of illness or injury or to improve the functioning of a malformed body member. The critical appraisal of the evidence enables us to determine to what degree we are confident that: 1) the specific assessment questions can be answered conclusively; and 2) the intervention will improve health outcomes for patients. An improved health outcome is one of several considerations in determining whether an item or service is reasonable and necessary. Methodological principles of study design that are used to assess the literature on a therapeutic or diagnostic item or service for specific conditions can be found in Appendix A. In general, features of clinical studies that improve quality and decrease bias include the selection of a clinically relevant cohort, the consistent use of a single good reference standard, and the blinding of readers of the index test, and reference test results. Public comment sometimes cites published clinical evidence and gives CMS useful information. Public comments that give information on unpublished evidence such as the results of individual practitioners or patients are less rigorous and therefore less useful for making a coverage determination. CMS uses the initial public comments to inform its proposed decision. CMS responds in detail to the public comments on a proposed decision when issuing the final decision memorandum. VII. Evidence A. Introduction: This DM focuses on the use of PRP in chronic, non-healing wounds; dehiscent wounds; or in acute wounds when PRP is applied directly upon the closed incision site (i.e., a cutaneous application). Consequently, the various subcutaneous uses of PRP (for example, during sinus or dental surgery, or for the treatment of chronic elbow tendinosis) are not addressed in this document. In addition, only autologous PRP is addressed and not PRP obtained from homologous sources. A high quality of evidence is critical to determine whether an intervention improves the patient’s health outcome. The highest quality of clinical evidence generally comes from prospective, controlled clinical trials. Hence, in this DM, CMS gives preference to results from controlled clinical trials that investigated autologous PRP. However, we also review other published evidence from observation studies as well as the professional opinions found in position statements or in review articles. We also consider public comments and evidence submitted for our review. For chronic, non-healing wounds and for dehiscent wounds, CMS continues to use the primary outcome of interest that was used in the original NCD (CAG-00190N)–incidence of complete wound healing (also known as complete wound closure or one hundred percent re-epithelialization). A definitive outcome such as this allows for a confident generalization of the available evidence across studies, different types of studies, different types of wounds, and to the Medicare population. This is an important consideration given the variability of wound pathophysiology, the propensity for the use of an uncontrolled design in wound studies and since many patients in studies are less than 65 years of age. Time to complete wound healing and incidence of wound infection are two additional outcomes that have been reported in the clinical literature. However, the incidence of complete wound closure is the most commonly used primary outcome. For acute, surgical wounds that were closed upon completion of the surgical procedure, potential outcomes are incidence of dehiscence, severity of incisional pain and incidence of infection. In June, 2006 the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued a guidance document regarding the clinical investigation of chronic cutaneous ulcer and burn wounds titled “Guidance for Industry. Chronic Cutaneous Ulcer and Burn Wounds—Developing Products for Treatment.” The salient points from this document include: The guidance specifically addresses only three types of chronic cutaneous ulcers: venous stasis ulcer, diabetic foot ulcers, and pressure ulcers (FDA guidance, page 1). FDA defines a chronic cutaneous ulcer as “a wound that has failed to proceed through an orderly and timely series of events to produce a durable structural, functional, and cosmetic closure” (FDA guidance, page 1). CMS considers this to be an important distinction from an acute wound, which has not had the opportunity to proceed through this orderly and timely series of events. Regarding clinical trial design, randomization is “particularly important for reducing bias in wound indication trials because standard wound care procedures and baseline wound characteristics generally have a profound effect on outcome” (FDA guidance, page 5). FDA notes that standard care refers to generally accepted wound care procedures, which can vary from institution to institution and hence confound the assessment of the outcome (FDA guidance, page 8). To emphasize the importance of this point, the guidance devotes over three pages to the subject of standard care considerations (FDA guidance, pages 8-12). Of note, the guidance suggests the use of a “standard-of-care” or run-in phase, which is an initial stage of the trial where only standard-of-care treatment is administered, in order to minimize the variability in care and filter out those patients with significant wound healing simply due to improved compliance with standard-of-care treatment (FDA guidance, page 8). Baseline wound characteristics can also impact the assessment of the outcome. Wounds differ in pathophysiology therefore “it is difficult to generalize results obtained from a trial conducted in subjects with one wound type to patients with another wound type” (FDA guidance, page 2). The guidance addresses the issues surrounding proper wound assessment and quantification (FDA guidance, pages 6-7). Blinding of patients and investigators is advisable when feasible in order to reduce the chance for bias. If it is impractical or unethical to do so, at least a blinded assessment by a third-party evaluator should be incorporated into the trial design (FDA guidance, page 5). The FDA guidance states that there are generally two broad categories of endpoints to demonstrate the efficacy of wound treatment products for regulatory approval: improved wound healing and improved wound care. Examples of specific endpoints to demonstrate improved wound healing include incidence of complete wound closure, accelerated wound closure, facilitation of surgical wound closure, and quality of healing (cosmesis and function). Examples of specific endpoints to show improved wound care include treatment of wound infection, debridement, and wound pain control (FDA guidance, pages 12-15). CMS recognizes that products such as graftskin and becaplermin were required to conduct controlled clinical trials in order to obtain FDA approval or marketing clearance for the indication of improved wound healing. This is in contrast to the reduced regulatory barrier for the indication of wound management. B. Discussion of evidence reviewed 1. Questions : The development of an assessment in support of Medicare coverage decisions is based on the same general question for almost all requests: “Is the evidence sufficient to conclude that the application of the technology under study will improve health outcomes for Medicare patients?” For this NCD, the questions of interest are: Is the evidence sufficient to conclude that the use of autologous PRP for chronic, non-healing wounds, compared to usual wound care, significantly and reliably improves the rate of complete healing in the Medicare population? Is the evidence sufficient to conclude that the use of autologous PRP for acute surgical wounds, compared to usual wound care, significantly and reliably improves the rate of complete healing in the Medicare population when PRP is applied directly to the closed incision? Is the evidence sufficient to conclude that the use of autologous PRP for dehiscent wounds, compared to usual wound care, significantly and reliably improves the rate of complete healing in the Medicare population? 2. External technology assessments On October 30, 2007, the Cochrane database, the NICE database, the Blue Cross/Blue Shield TEC database, and the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health database were searched using the terms "wound care," "platelet gel," and "platelet-rich plasma." No technology assessments were found. AHRQ released a technology assessment dated March 8, 2005 titled “Usual Care in the Management of Chronic Wounds: A Review of the Recent Literature.” This technology assessment presented a broad review of the products, techniques, and protocols used in wound management and did not address autologous PRP specifically except to state that growth factors “show promise but need further, more rigorous evaluation.” 3. Internal technology assessments On September 13, 2007, CMS performed a PubMed search of the literature using the following search terms in various combinations: “platelet-rich plasma,” “autologous,” “chronic wound,” “chronic non-healing wound,” “platelet gel,” and “dehiscence.” The limitations used were: Human, English, Trial type (Clinical Trial, Randomized Clinical Trial, Meta-analysis), Age (Adult, Middle aged, Middle-aged plus Aged, Aged, Eighty years old and older), and Date (from 2003 to the present). The date range was selected to minimally overlap the evidence reviewed in this DM with the evidence reviewed in the 2003 decision memorandum (CAG-00190N). The requestor and public commenters included additional sources of potential articles. From the above article sources, CMS looked for published, peer-reviewed evidence of controlled clinical trials that provided results on the use of autologous PRP in patients with a chronic, non-healing wound, a dehiscent wound, or an acute, surgical wound where the PRP was applied directly upon the closed incision (i.e., a cutaneous application). Using the criteria stated above, seven literature articles were identified and reviewed for chronic, non-healing wounds (two of these also studied dehiscent wounds) and two articles for acute wounds. The review of these articles is presented below and in the evidence tables located in Appendix B. Evidence Summary CHRONIC WOUNDS Anitua E, et al. Effectiveness of autologous preparation rich in growth factors for the treatment of chronic cutaneous ulcers. Journal of Biomedical Materials Research Part B: Applied Biomaterials 2007;84B:415-421. This was a randomized, open-label, controlled prospective study of fifteen patients with chronic cutaneous ulcers. There was a seven-day washout period followed by a baseline assessment and then an eight-week treatment period. Patients had to have at least one ulcer of less than twelve centimeters in diameter that was nonhealing after four weeks of standard wound care. Exclusion criteria included arterial origin of ulceration, history of insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus, systemic and/or local ulcer infection, inadequate nutritional status, active vasculitis or anemia. The primary outcome was percentage of ulcer surface area that healed. Intent-to-treat was the primary analysis. There was no mention of a power calculation. Initially both the PRP and the control groups received wound cleansing with normal saline and moist saline gauze dressings; debridement occurred if infection of the ulcer bed was suspected. The PRP group received a portion of the autologous PRP via injection into the margins of the ulcer and the remainder as a direct topical application to the ulcer bed; autologous PRP was administered once per week for eight weeks. Autologous PRP was produced using the PGRF System (BTI Biotechnology Institute, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain). The control group received debridement and saline cleansing once per week for eight weeks. Sterile moist saline gauze dressings were applied in both groups. Fifteen patients were entered into the study; eight patients in the PRP group and seven patients in the control group. The authors did not report any statistically significant differences between the two groups. The mean age was 45 years for the PRP group and 61 years for the control group. The mean ulcer area was 5.5 cm 2 and 8.9 cm 2 for the PRP and control groups, respectively. Of the fifteen patients studied, three dropped-out of each group, which means that five patients in the PRP group and four patients in the control group completed the study. Sixty-four percent of the fourteen ulcers studied were of venous origin, 29% were of pressure origin and the remaining seven percent were reported as “other.” The mean percentage of surface healed at eight weeks was 72.94% and 21.48% in the PRP and control groups, respectively (p<0.05). Upon looking at the graft of the results, this statistically significant result appears to be based on a sample size of only nine (the originally planned intent-to-treat analysis would be based on a sample size of fifteen). Three patients experienced four adverse events (ulcer bed infection in one PRP patient and two control patients, and anemia in one patient). The authors acknowledge the small number of patients studied but conclude that the results “strongly support safety and effectiveness” of autologous PRP in patients with chronic ulcers and that additional “clinical trials with larger samples and larger end-points will be necessary to unequivocally establish the full potential” of autologous PRP. Barrett SL. A new approach to using growth factors in wound healing. Podiatry Today 2003;1:44-50. Barrett presented the results from an uncontrolled, unblinded prospective study of sixteen patients (seventeen wounds) with either a diabetic, decubitis, or venous stasis ulcer or a complicated surgical wound dehiscence. Patients had to have failed at least four weeks of standard wound care, which included debridement, offloading, and topical administration of hydrocolloids; infected wounds were excluded. Initial treatment consisted of debridement followed by autologous PRP then petrolatum-impregnated gauze and a gauze dressing. After two weeks, PRP was reapplied as needed until complete wound closure. Patients received a new topical hydrocolloid and gauze dressing daily. Autologous PRP was produced using the SmartPReP (Harvest Technologies, Corp.) system. The primary outcome investigated was complete wound closure. The number of each type of wound was not stated. The number of PRP applications per patient ranged from one to five. Sixteen of seventeen wounds (94%) had complete wound closure. There was one recurrence due to non-compliance. No adverse reactions were reported. Neither the age range nor the gender ratio was provided. The author concludes that autologous PRP is useful in the treatment of chronic wounds and that the technology is simple and effective in the office-based setting. He further predicted that widespread use will be commonplace. Crovetti G, et al. Platelet gel for healing cutaneous chronic wounds. Transfusion and Apheresis Science 2004;30:145-151. This was an uncontrolled, unblinded prospective study of 24 patients with either a diabetic or traumatic ulcer. Inclusion criteria were not stated but patients were excluded for the presence of infection, cellulitis, osteomyelitis, or vascular insufficiency in the wound area. The outcomes investigated were extent of wound area reduction, granulation tissue formation, wound bed cleanliness and the regression/absence of infective processes. PRP was administered once per week preceded by saline washings and followed by the application of an occlusive dressing. Antibiotics were given as needed. The MCS+ (Haemonetics Inc.) system was used to produce PRP. Of the 24 patients studied, only three received autologous PRP and the results of only two of these three were reported in the article. One patient was a 73 year old man with a traumatic wound who experienced a greater than fifty percent recovery after 44 applications of PRP. The other patient was a 46 year old woman with a diabetic wound who dropped out of the study after only seven PRP applications due to the onset of osteomyelitis. No adverse reactions were reported. The authors conclude that PRP use improves the treatment of cutaneous wounds. They also note that PRP application is an adjuvant treatment within a multidisciplinary treatment program for chronic, cutaneous wounds. Mazzucco L, et al. The use of autologous platelet gel to treat difficult-to-heal wounds: a pilot study. Transfusion 2004;44:1013-1018. In Mazzucco, 2004, the authors presented the results of a nonrandomized, unblinded, prospective study that used a retrospective control group. The inclusion and exclusion criteria were not stated. There were 53 patients with either a dehiscent sternal wound or a necrotic skin ulcer. The necrotic skin ulcer resulted from various underlying causes including venous insufficiency, arterial insufficiency, trauma, or pressure. The article separately presented the treatment protocol and results for each group. Dehiscent Sternal Wounds In the treatment group, autologous PRP was administered twice per week. The control group received daily washing and cleaning with ialuronic acid; one patient received hyperbaric therapy. Antibiotics were given as needed. The specific system used to produce the PRP was not stated. The outcomes were time to complete healing and total hospital length of stay. Ten patients received PRP and twelve received control therapy. The mean age was 64 years in the PRP group and 66 years in the control group. There were six men in the PRP group and eight men in the control group. The median time to complete healing in the PRP group compared to the control group was 3.5 weeks versus six weeks (p= 0.0002). The median total hospital length of stay in the PRP group compared to the control group was 31.5 days versus 52.5 days (p< 0.0001). Data from the patient who received hyperbaric therapy were censored during statistical analysis. No adverse reactions were reported. Necrotic Skin Ulcers In the treatment group, saline washings were followed by autologous PRP once per week. The control group received daily washing and cleaning with ialuronic acid; one control patient also received autologous cultured fibroblasts. Antibiotics were given as needed. The specific system used to produce the PRP was not stated. The outcome was the time to the necessity for surgery. Seventeen patients received PRP and fourteen received control therapy. The mean age was 61 years in the PRP group and 63 years in the control group. There were eight men in the PRP group and five men in the control group. The median time to the necessity for surgery in the PRP group compared to the control group was fifteen weeks versus 35.5 weeks (p< 0.0001). Data from the patient who received autologous cultured fibroblasts were censored during statistical analysis. No adverse reactions were reported. The authors conclude that autologous PRP is easy to prepare, accessible to most physicians in metropolitan areas and areas with hospital facilities, and clinically effective. It should be used in conjunction “with the other typical treatments known to quicken tissue repair and regeneration.” McAleer JP, et al. Use of autologous platelet concentrate in a nonhealing lower extremity wound. Advances in Skin and Wound Care 2006;September:354-362. McAleer, et al. presented a single case report of a 57 year old man with a diabetic wound who had complete closure of his wound after debridement and weekly autologous PRP followed by a compressive dressing. A Biomet Orthopedics Inc. system was used to produce the PRP. No adverse reactions were reported. The authors conclude that autologous PRP shows “tremendous potential, warrants consideration in the treatment of recalcitrant wounds, and merits additional investigation.” Klayman MH, et al. Autologous platelet concentrate and vacuum-assisted closure device use in a nonhealing total knee replacement. Journal of Extra-Corporeal Technology 2006;38:44-47. This article presented a single case report about a 51 year old man with diabetes who had a chronic non-healing incisional wound after total knee arthroplasty. Autologous PRP was administered about once per week for four weeks. A continuous vacuum-assisted wound closure device was applied after each PRP treatment. The SmartPReP (Harvest Technologies, Corp.) system was utilized to produce the PRP. The wound size decreased from 15x15 cm to 8x6 cm with sufficient granulation tissue to proceed to skin grafting. No adverse reactions were reported. The authors conclude that with or without a vacuum-assisted closure device, autologous PRP “may prove valuable as an adjunct to good wound care and may shorten the amount of time to healing.” McAleer JP, Kaplan E, Persich G. Efficacy of concentrated autologous platelet-derived growth factors in chronic lower-extremity wounds. Journal of the American Podiatric Medical Association 2006;96(6):482-488. This was an uncontrolled, unblinded prospective study of 24 patients with a chronic non-healing lower extremity ulcer treated unsuccessfully for at least six months with traditional methods. Patients with ankle-arm indices of less than 0.60, signs of systemic or lower extremity soft tissue infection, radiographic evidence of osteomyelitis or gangrenous changes were excluded. The wound types studied were due to venous stasis, pressure, arterial insufficiency, trauma, or diabetes-induced neuropathic pathology. Initial treatment consisted of debridement, autologous PRP, sterile gauze and a compressive dressing. Debridement and PRP administration occurred every two weeks until the wound was completely closed. A Biomet Orthopedics Inc. system was used to produce the PRP. The patient was also instructed to limit weight-bearing activities. The outcome studied was complete wound closure. The 24 patients had a total of 33 wounds. There were three venous stasis ulcers, two decubitis ulcers, five ulcers due to arterial insufficiency, eight traumatic ulcers in patients with diabetes, and six ulcers due to diabetes-induced neuropathic pathology. The age range was 25 to 91 years. There were thirteen women and eleven men. Six patients did not complete the study; two patients were lost to follow-up, two patients discontinued due to the need for below-the-knee amputation due to infection, one patient had skin grafting, and one patient had wound closure during surgical correction of an anatomic deformity. Twenty of the 33 wounds (61%) had complete wound closure. The mean time to complete closure was eleven weeks. Five of the 33 wounds had no improvement. No adverse reactions were reported. The authors conclude that their results show that the use of autologous PRP “facilitates the reduction and closure of chronic lower-extremity wounds” in various wound types. Driver VR, et al. A prospective, randomized, controlled trial of autologous platelet-rich plasma gel for the treatment of diabetic foot ulcers. Ostomy/Wound Management 2006;52(6):68-87. Driver, et al. conducted a prospective, randomized, double-blinded, controlled, multi-center clinical trial in patients with a diabetic foot ulcer. Patients had to be between eighteen and 95 years old and have adequate arterial perfusion. The wound area had to be between 0.5 and twenty square centimeters (inclusive), be full-thickness without exposure of tendon, muscle, ligaments or bone, and have a distance of at least four centimeters from other wounds. Patients were excluded if the wound was infected or the hemoglobin A1C was twelve or greater. There was a seven-day screening period, which included a baseline wound assessment and debridement, and the application of control saline gel. The patient was excluded from the trial if a greater than fifty percent reduction in wound size occurred during this screening period. A twelve-week treatment period was followed by a twelve-week follow-up period. The PRP group received debridement, autologous PRP, a contact layer dressing, and then foam dressing. The Autologel (Cytomedix Inc.) system was used to produce the PRP. The control group received debridement, normal saline gel, a contact layer dressing, and then foam dressing. Treatment was applied twice per week until the wound completely healed, the twelve-week treatment phase ended, or the patient withdrew or was withdrawn from the study. All patients used fixed ankle-foot orthoses, and crutches or a walker. During the twelve-week treatment phase, treatment was restarted if a completely closed wound re-opened. The primary outcome was incidence of complete wound closure. The secondary outcomes consisted of the percent change in wound area from baseline, the percent change in wound volume from baseline, the area closure rate/day, and the volume closure rate/day. A number of efficacy analyses were performed as presented below. Intent-To-Treat Efficacy Analysis The clinical protocol first called for a primary efficacy analysis based on the biostatistical principle of intention-to-treat. For this analysis, the sample size was 72 with 40 patients in the PRP group and 32 in the control group. The mean age was 56 years in the PRP group and 57 years in the control group. Eighty percent of the patients were men in the PRP group and 84% were men in the control group. The mean wound area was four square centimeters (standard deviation of five) for the PRP group and three square centimeters (standard deviation of three) for the control group. The mean wound volume was 1.7 cubic centimeters (standard deviation of four) for the PRP group and 0.9 cubic centimeters (standard deviation of 1.2) for the control group. The wide variability in baseline wound volume was statistically significantly greater in the PRP group compared to the control group (p<0.0001). There were no other statistically significant baseline differences between groups. For the primary outcome, thirteen of 40 patients (32.5%) in the PRP group and nine of 32 patients (28%) in the control group had complete wound closure (p=0.79). The results of the efficacy analysis of the secondary outcomes were not reported. A subsequent independent audit of the study showed a 44% rate of protocol violations (32/72) that prompted a revision of the sample size and a second efficacy analysis of the primary outcome. This second analysis was called “per protocol” and the results are presented below. Also of note, the amount of inter-site enrollment variability prompted the investigators to group the sites during the first round of statistical analysis. Five groups were formed and labeled as teaching facilities, army facility, physicians in private practice (two distinct sites) or ambulatory care clinics. One of these five groups was eliminated during the audit. For the remaining four investigational site groups, a wide variation in healing outcomes was found—50 to one hundred percent variability in the PRP group and 25-67% variability in the control group. Per Protocol Efficacy Analysis The revised sample size was 40, with nineteen patients in the PRP group and 21 in the control group. There were no statistically significant differences between groups at baseline except the percent of Caucasians in the PRP group was greater than in the control group (p=0.02). For the efficacy analysis of the primary outcome, thirteen of nineteen patients (68%) in the PRP group and nine of 21 patients (43%) in the control group had complete wound closure (p=0.125). The results of the per protocol efficacy analysis of the secondary outcomes were not reported. However, an efficacy outcome called the Kaplan-Meier median time to complete closure was reported. The median time was 45 days in the PRP group and 85 days in the control group (p=0.126). The authors note that an examination of the size frequency distributions revealed that 35 of 40 (88%) wounds had an area of seven square centimeters or less and a volume of two cubic centimeters or less. This subset sample of the database was called the majority wounds group and was the subject of another efficacy analysis. The results of this analysis are presented below. Subset Efficacy Analysis The new sample size was 35 with sixteen patients in the PRP group and nineteen in the control group. For the efficacy analysis of the primary outcome, thirteen of sixteen patients (81%) in the PRP group and eight of nineteen patients (42%) in the control group had complete wound closure (p=0.036). The results of the subset efficacy analysis of the secondary outcomes were not reported. No statistically significant differences in the rate of adverse events were seen between PRP and control groups (total n=72). The authors conclude that autologous PRP use “may not only enhance healing, but it also may prevent lower extremity amputations caused by nonhealing wounds.” They also note that a future study that incorporates a larger sample size can be done to validate the results from their trial. ACUTE WOUNDS Trowbridge CC, et al. Use of Platelet gel and its effects on infection in cardiac surgery. Journal of Extra-Corporeal Technology 2005;37:381-386. This was a prospective, nonrandomized, unblinded, single center study of patients greater than nineteen years old who were undergoing cardiac surgery from October 2002 to June 2005. Sternal incision site, and vein and artery harvest site incisions were investigated. No exclusions were stated. There were three groups studied: the PRP group, the concurrent control group and the historical control group (surgical patients from the eighteen months prior to the start of the study). Autologous PRP was applied first to the subcutaneous area of the incisional sites and then directly on the cutaneous incision after closure. For the control groups, the incisional sites received standard intra-operative and post-operative care. About fifteen percent of patients in the PRP group received PRP produced using a COBE Cardiovascular Inc. system; about 70 percent of patients received PRP produced using the CATS (Terumo Cardiovascular Systems Corp.) system; and about fifteen percent of patients received PRP produced using the SmartPReP (Cytomedix Inc.) system. The outcome assessed was the rate of superficial and deep sternal wound infections. Subgroup data analysis was planned to determine the risk factors for infection. The total sample size was 2,259 with 382 in the PRP group, 948 in the concurrent control group and 929 in the historical control group. The mean age was 64 years for the PRP group, 64 years for the concurrent control group and 65 years for the historical control group. The percentage of men in each group was 66% (PRP group), 65% (concurrent control group) and 64% (historical control group). The rate of infection of superficial wounds was 0.3% in the PRP group, 1.8% in concurrent control group, and 1.5% in the historical control group (p< 0.05 for the PRP group compared to each control group). The rate of infection of deep sternal wounds was 0% in the PRP group, 1.5% in concurrent control group, and 1.7% in the historical control group (p< 0.01 for the PRP group compared to each control group). The low rate of infection overall precluded a subgroup analysis to determine the risk factors for infection. The authors conclude that their results suggest the continued use of autologous PRP in patients with acute sternal wounds; however, its use “requires further prospective analysis to ascertain its benefit for improving outcomes.” They also note that future studies should employ large sample sizes and measures of product quality. Lastly, consensus is needed regarding a uniform measure of infection and wound dehiscence, measures of product quality, and reporting of adverse events. Hom DC, Linzie BM, Huang TC. The healing effects of autologous platelet gel on acute human skin wounds. Archives of Facial Plastic Surgery 2007;9:174-183. Hom, et al. conducted a prospective, controlled, pilot study in healthy adult volunteers. Volunteers were excluded if there was a history of diabetes, keloid/scar formation, collagen vascular disease or bleeding disorder, or use of an anticoagulant or steroid during the month prior to enrollment. Each volunteer received five full-thickness, punch biopsy wounds of four to six millimeters in diameter on each thigh. A punch wound and its corresponding punch wound on the other thigh were considered a “set.” There were eight volunteers for a total of 80 wounds. For each volunteer, each of the five sets of thigh punch wounds was assigned to one of five groups and one of two phases: Phase 1 Group PRP Control 1 Applied on Day 0 + petrolatum ointment Topical antibiotic 2 Applied on Day 0 None Phase 2 Group PRP Control 3 Applied on Days 0 & 7 + petrolatum ointment Topical antibiotic 4 Applied on Days 0 & 7 None Group 5 punch wounds were allowed to heal by secondary intention alone. All wounds were covered with a semi-occlusive dressing. The Magellan (Medtronic Inc.) system was used to produce autologous PRP. Wound healing measurements were recorded for 42 days. Clinical assessment and blinded photographic assessment was used to study the percent wound closure over time, and the time required for complete wound closure. The age range studied was 21 to 58 years and four of the eight volunteers were men. The results appear to be pooled across groups one through four for autologous PRP-treated and for control-treated groups, and then reported as PRP-treated versus control, despite the fact that each set of PRP-treated punch wounds received slightly different treatment. The text of the article gives an incomplete presentation of the percent wound closure over time results. Based on clinical assessment, for day seven the mean (SE) percent wound closure over time was 14% (1.1) for the PRP wounds and 7% (1.1) for the control wounds. For day fourteen, the mean (SE) percent wound closure over time was 73.9% (2.9) for the PRP wounds and 49.6% (3.6) for the control wounds. For day seventeen, the mean (SE) percent wound closure over time was 81.1% (2.5) for the PRP wounds and 57.2% (5.9) for the control wounds. The article text does not provide the results out to day 42 but a chart does provide this information. In the chart, there is dispersion in the data between the PRP-treated and control groups from day seven through to day 31, with the PRP-treated group showing a greater mean percent closure compared to the control group. The widest dispersion between the groups occurs at days fourteen and seventeen. By day 35 both groups show 100% closure. The chart does not indicate the degree of variation around each data point. The presence or absence of statistical significance at each data point is also not indicated on the graph; however, in the text accompanying the chart the authors state “autologous platelet gel (APG)-treated sites had increased wound closure compared with the control sites over a 42-day period (P<.001).” Based on the data from digital photography, the authors state “the APG-treated sites had significantly increased wound closure compared to control sites over a 42-day period (P=.02, analysis of variance with repeated measures).” For the outcome of time required for complete wound closure, on day 21, 63% of the PRP-treated wounds and 31% of the control wounds had complete closure. On day 24, 81% of the PRP-treated wounds and 44% of control wounds had complete closure. On day 28, 88% of the PRP-treated wounds and 56% of control wounds had complete closure. The average time to achieve complete closure was 29.75 days for the PRP-treated wounds and 35.38 days for the control wounds. None of these results achieved statistical significance. No infections or serious adverse events were reported. The authors conclude their results need to be confirmed by future studies. If its effectiveness is confirmed, autologous PRP use “could have a useful impact on the enhancement of postoperative dermal wound healing in surgical patients.” 4. MedCAC No MedCAC was convened for this topic. 5. Evidence-based guidelines A summary clinical algorithm for a guideline by the Association for the Advancement of Wound Care was found during a search of the National Guideline Clearinghouse database. The algorithm, titled “Summary algorithm for venous ulcer care with annotations of available evidence” briefly notes the use of biologic dressings for wounds at least 30 days old as well as the use of platelet-derived growth factor. However, an evidence strength rating of “C” was assigned to each. This rating means that at least one of the following is lacking: results from a controlled trial, results of at least two case series or descriptive studies or a cohort study in humans, or expert opinion. In 2006, the Wound Healing Society published evidence-based guidelines to demonstrate the best care of chronic wounds. The guidelines were presented by type of chronic wound (diabetic ulcers, venous ulcers, pressure ulcers, and arterial insufficiency ulcers). Only the venous ulcer guideline addressed a PRP-type of treatment and noted that this treatment has “yet to be shown to demonstrate sufficient statistically significant results or effectiveness to recommend” its use. 6. Professional Society Position Statements An internet search failed to locate any professional society position statements exclusively concerning autologous PRP. 7. Public Comments Initial comment period During the initial 30-day public comment period, CMS received a total of 61 comments. Comments that were submitted via CMS coverage website may be viewed by using the following link: http://www.cms.hhs.gov/mcd/viewpubliccomments.asp?nca_id=208 . The full summary of those comments can be found in our proposed decision memorandum on our coverage website. Final comment period CMS received a total of 22 public comments during the final 30-day public comment period. Two commenters were in favor of the proposed non-coverage decision, eighteen were opposed and favored some kind of cover
Codes in this policy
Code numbers and each code’s status as the policy records it. CPT code descriptions are left out of this page, as are the passages that cite CPT codes; the official document has them.
Backwork has no codes on record for this policy. Check the source.